Regional Advisors & Community Liaisons

Former board members may serve as Regional Advisors to strengthen WDO’s presence in their region, and support the organization in implementing its World Design Agenda™. They are key in leveraging the strength of our international membership, ensuring the organization remains visible, and aligning the design agendas of their region to the aspirations of design for a better world.

Community Liaisons may be nominated by board members for term-long appointments to provide an informed voice from a city, country or region. Working closely with the board member responsible for their region, they identify key individuals and resources to empower local design communities and connect them with the organization and its work.

Regional Advisors

AFRICA

Ms. Adrienne Viljoen

(Retired) Manager
SABS Design Institute
Pretoria (South Africa)
t: +27 83 6322367

e: adrienne.viljoen@gmail.com

ASIA

Prof. Lou Yongqi

Dean, College of Design and Innovation
Tongji University
Yangpu, Shanghai (China)

e: lou.yongqi@gmail.com

Dr. Darlie Koshy

Director General & CEO
ATDC (Apparel Training & Design Centre), National Head Office
Gurgaon, Haryana (India)

e: darlie.koshy@gmail.com

Prof. Pradyumna Vyas

Director, NID and Member Secretary, India Design Council
National Institute of Design
Ahmedabad, Gujarat (India)

e: pradyumna@nid.edu

Mr. Kazuo Tanaka

President, GK Design
Japan Industrial Designers’ Association (JIDA)
Tokyo (Japan)

e: k-tanaka@gk-design.co.jp

Ms. Judit Várhelyi

Professor, Tama Art University, Department of Product Design
BEDA Board member 2014-2016
Board member, Hungarian Design Council 2015-2018
Tokyo (Japan)

e: judit.varhelyi@gmail.com

Ms. Eunjoo Maing

Acting Executive Managing Director, Promotion Department; Director/Head of D-TEC Academy
Korea Institute of Design Promotion
Seungnam-shi, Gyeonggi-do (South Korea)
t: +886 2 2655 8199

e: humaing@kidp.or.kr

Mr. Kuang-Min (Tony) Chang

Chief Advisor
Taiwan Design Center
Taipei (Taiwan, Chinese Taipei)
t: +886 2 2655 8199 ext.134

e: kmc@tdc.org.tw

EUROPE

Ms. Vivial Cheng

Designer
Vivian DESIGN
Copenhagen (Denmark)

e: vivian@vivian-design.com

András Mengyán

Artist, Designer, Professor
President, Art22 Foundation
Budapest (Hungary)
t: 00 36 20 4599107

e: amengyan@t-online.hu

Pierre-Yves Panis

Chief Designer
Philips Lighting
Amsterdam (The Netherlands)

e: pierreyves.panis@icloud.com

Michael Thomson

Director
Design Connect
London (United Kingdom)
t: +44 (0) 7980 223 815

e: michael@designconnect.com

NORTH AMERICA

Mr. Mario Gagnon

President
Association of Canadian Industrial Designers
Montréal, QC (Canada)

e: mgagnon@alto-design.com

Dr. Jorge Gómez Abrams

Director
Winn Innovation
Monterrey (Mexico)

e: jorge.abrams@winninnovation.com

Mr. Nils J. Tvengsberg

Cuernavaca (Mexico)
t: +52 7773 15 78 87

e: tvengs@gmail.com

Mr. Bruce Claxton

Professor, Design Management
Savannah College of Art & Design
Coral Springs, FL (USA)

e: baclaxton.idsa@gmail.com

Dr. Lorraine Justice

Professor of Industrial Design, Dean Emerita
Rochester Institute of Technology
Rochester, NY (USA)

e: lxjpgd@rit.edu

OCEANIA

Prof. Vesna Popovic

Professor in Industrial Design
Queensland University of Technology
School of Design
Brisbane (Australia)

e: v.popovic@qut.edu.au

Community Liaisons

ASIA

Dr. Elif Kocabiyik

Lecturer
Izmir University of Economics
Balcova, Izmir (Turkey)
t: +90 533 6618831

e: elif.kocabiyik@ieu.edu.tr, elif.kocabiyik@gmail.com

Michel Vandamme

Head of Design and Development
Home Centre – Landmark Group
Dubai (United Arab Emirates)
t: +971 56 689 7136

e: michel.vandamme@gmail.com

EUROPE

Mr. Deepak Gupta

Director, Innovation and Value SAP
Levallois-Perret (France)
t: +33 (0) 6 07 67 65 31

e: deepak03.gupta@sap.com

Mr. Bernd Fesel

Director
Office for Culture and Economy
Bonn (Germany)
t: +0049 172 2111 862

e: berndfesel@gmail.com

Mr. Marco van Hout

Head of Programmes & Impact
Digital Society School
Soest, Utrecht (The Netherlands)
t: +31 645632879

e: m.van.hout@hva.nl

NORTH AMERICA

Mr. Sergio Villalobos

President
DI-Integra, A.C.
Ciudad Juárez, Chihuahua (Mexico)
t: +52 1 656 287 22 68

e: presidencia@di-integra.mx, presidencia@di-integra.org.mx