World Design Capital® (WDC), designated every two years by the World Design Organization™ (WDO), recognizes cities for their effective use of design to drive economic, social, cultural, and environmental development. Through a year-long programme of events, the designated city showcases best practices in sustainable design-led urban policy and innovation that improve quality of life. Previous WDCs include Torino (Italy) in 2008, followed by Seoul (South Korea) in 2010, Helsinki (Finland) in 2012, Cape Town (South Africa) in 2014, and Taipei (Taiwan, Chinese Taipei) in 2016. Mexico City (Mexico) holds the title for 2018.

Application for WDC 2020 is now closed. Thank you and stay tuned for updates!

About WDC

Learn about the impact and legacy.

Become A WDC

What you will need to apply.

WDC Cycle

Learn more about the process of WDC.

Selection Committee

Learn about our five appointed experts.


Learn how to become a partner of WDC

WDC Mexico City 2018

Our first designation in North America.

WDC Taipei 2016

Taipei’s year of events has now concluded.

Past WDC Cities

Read up on our past WDC cities since 2008.