World Design Capital® (WDC), designated every two years by the World Design Organization® (WDO), recognizes cities for their effective use of design to drive economic, social, cultural, and environmental development. Through a year-long programme of events, the designated city showcases best practices in sustainable design-led urban policy and innovation that improve quality of life.

Previous WDCs include Torino (Italy) in 2008, Seoul (South Korea) in 2010, Helsinki (Finland) in 2012, Cape Town (South Africa) in 2014, Taipei (Taiwan, Chinese Taipei) in 2016, Mexico City (Mexico) in 2018, Lille Metropole (France) in 2020 and Valencia (Spain) in 2022. The cities of San Diego (USA) and Tijuana (Mexico) will jointly hold designation in 2024, while the region of Frankfurt RheinMain (Germany) will assume the title in 2026.

Is your city or design community thinking about bidding for WDC? Download our guide on becoming a WDC to learn where to begin!

About WDC

Learn about the impact and legacy

Become A WDC

Download our guide to becoming a WDC

WDC Cycle

 Discover the 7 key milestones

Selection Committee

Find out more about our experts that make the WDC selection


Learn how to become a partner of WDC

WDC San Diego Tijuana 2024

Learn about the first binational WDC designation

WDC Frankfurt RheinMain 2026

Frankfurt RheinMain has been awarded the 2026 title

Past WDC Cities

Read up on our past WDC cities since 2008