Montreal (Canada) 20 December 2018 – The World Design Organization (WDO)® today announced the official composition of the international Selection Committee for the World Design Capital® (WDC) 2022 designation. The organization had launched the bid process earlier in October.

The international Selection Committee for the 2022 designation will consist of:

  • Dr. Luisa Bocchietto, WDO President
  • Mr. James Anderson, Head of Cities, Bloomberg Philanthropies
  • Mr. Mauro Porcini, Senior Vice President and Chief Design Officer, PepsiCo
  • Ms. Frédérique Seels, Vice President, Lille Metropole
  • Dr. Anne Stenros, Chief Executive Officer, Creative Catalyst

These experts are tasked with evaluating the bids, shortlisting the cities and ultimately deciding which city will be awarded the biennial title. Their evaluation is based on a number of criteria, including the ways in which citizens benefit from the use of design in city planning, the capacity to organize and finance a year-long programme of design events, the mobilization and participation of the wider design community, the general population and visitors, as well as the fostering of a wider dialogue on urban revitalization strategies.

For more information about the bidding process, as well as to apply for the WDC 2022 designation, download the Becoming a WDC Guide. The deadline for applications is 31 March 2019. The designated city will be announced at WDO’s World Design Assembly™ in Hyderabad (India) in October 2019.


For more information, please contact:

Jessica Hanson, WDC Programme Manager, T: +1 514 448 4949 ext. 224,

Khatidja Kassam, Communications Officer, T: +1 514 448 4949 ext. 223,


About WDO

The World Design Organization (WDO)®, formerly the International Council of Societies of Industrial Design (Icsid), is an international non-governmental organization founded in 1957 to promote the profession of industrial design. WDO advocates industrial design driven innovation that creates a better world, engaging more than 150 member organizations in collaborative efforts and carrying out international programming—World Design Capital®, World Design Talks™, World Design Impact Prize, World Industrial Design Day™, and Interdesign™. WDO has United Nations Special Consultative Status.


About World Design Capital®

World Design Capital® (WDC), designated every two years by the World Design Organization® (WDO), recognizes WDO designates the World Design Capital (WDC) every two years to recognize cities for their effective use of design to drive economic, social, cultural, and environmental development. Through a year-long programme of events, the designated city showcases best practices in sustainable design-led urban policy and innovation that improve quality of life. Previous WDCs include Torino (Italy) in 2008, Seoul (South Korea) in 2010, Helsinki (Finland) in 2012, Cape Town (South Africa) in 2014, and Taipei (Taiwan, Chinese Taipei) in 2016. Mexico City (Mexico) holds the title for 2018 and Lille Metropole (France) has been awarded the designation for 2020.