Regional Advisors & Community Liaisons

Former board members may serve as Regional Advisors to strengthen WDO’s presence in their region, and support the organization in implementing its World Design Agenda™. They are key in leveraging the strength of our international membership, ensuring the organization remains visible, and aligning the design agendas of their region to the aspirations of design for a better world.

Community Liaisons may be nominated by board members for term-long appointments to provide an informed voice from a city, country or region. Working closely with the board member responsible for their region, they identify key individuals and resources to empower local design communities and connect them with the organization and its work.

Regional Advisors


Mr. Hicham Lahlou

1852&Co – International Design Agency

Ms. Adrienne Viljoen

(Retired) Manager
SABS Design Institute


Mr. Kuang-Min (Tony) Chang

Chief Advisor
Taiwan Design Center

Mr. Shikuan Chen

Senior VP, Corp. Marketing and Innovation
Compal Electronics Inc.

Dr. Alpay Er

Professor, Head of Industrial Design Dept
Ozyegin University / Istanbul Institute of Design

Dr. Darlie Koshy

Director General & CEO
ATDC (Apparel Training & Design Centre), National Head Office

Mr. Don Tae Lee

Samsung Art and Design Institute

Prof. Yongi Lou

Dean, College of Desgn and Innovation
Tongji University

Ms. Eunjoo Maing

Fmr. Executive Managing Director, Capacity Development
Korea Institute of Design Promotion

Dr. Geetha Narayanan

Founder Director
Srishti Manipal Institute of Art, Design and Technology (SMI)

Mr. Kazuo Tanaka

President, GK Design
Japan Industrial Designers’ Association (JIDA)

Ms. Judit Várhelyi

Design Expert, Educator, Guest Lecturer
Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design
Board member 2014-2016
Board member 2015-2018
Hungarian Design Council

Dr. Makoto Watanabe

Vice President
Chiba University


Ms. Vivian Cheng


Prof. Fritz Frenkler

Founder and President
f/p design

Mr. Tapani Hyvönen

Hyvonen Design Oy

Mr. András Mengyán

Artist, Designer, Professor, President
Art22 Foundation

Mr. Pierre-Yves Panis

Chief Designer
Philips Lighting

Mr. Gilles Rougon

Design & Innovation Senior Catalyst
Électricité de France (EDF) Research and Development Division

Mr. Michael Thomson

Design Connect


Dr. Jorge Gómez Abrams

Winn Innovation

Ms. Michelle Berryman

ECD of User Experience + Content Strategy
Hero Digital

Mr. Bruce Claxton

Professor, Design Management
Savannah College of Art & Design

Mr. Mario Gagnon

Adjunct Professor
Université de Montréal, School of design

Dr. Lorraine Justice

Professor of Industrial Design, Dean Emerita
Rochester Institute of Technology

Mr. Nils J. Tvengsberg

Dr. Martha Patricia Zarza Delgado

Associate Professor in the undergraduate program of Industrial Design 
Autonomous University of the State of Mexico


Prof. Vesna Popovic

Professor in Industrial Design
Queensland University of Technology School of Design

Community Liaisons


Prof. Gülay Hasdoğan

Head of the Department of Industrial Design
Middle East Technical University

Dr. Elif Kocabiyik

Izmir University of Economics

Mr. Rohit Lalwani

Design Enthusiast

Prof. Richard Hsu

Professor of Practice
Tongji University, School of Design and Innovation


Mr. Gerbrand Bas

Managing Director

Mrs. Anita Valkeemäki

MSc. Economy and Law

Mr. Marco van Hout

Head of Programmes & Impact
Digital Society School


Mr. Joel-Eric Missainhoun

Managing Director (Partner)